Officials in the College of Business at West Texas A&M University have announced the appointment of two new endowed professorship positions for the fall of 2015.

Dr. Hammer

Dr. Emily Hammer, assistant professor of business education and management, has been named the Jerry Miller Professor of Entrepreneurship. Dr. Jerry Miller, a distinguished scholar, dedicated professor, entrepreneur, community leader and innovative former dean of the College of Business at WTAMU, established the Miller Professorship in 2010. The professorship was created for the purpose of supporting the continued student, faculty and community entrepreneurship activities at the University. Hammer earned her M.B.A. and doctoral degrees from the Texas Tech University before joining the WTAMU faculty in 2014. She is certified as a Senior Professional in Human Resources (SPHR) and serves as the co-faculty adviser and Sam Walton Fellow for the student organization Enactus. Her research highlights include journal publications in the American Journal of Management, Journal of College Student Retention: Research, Theory & Practice, and Journal of Philosophy and History of Education. Hammer teaches courses in human resource management and business ethics.

“During his time as dean, Dr. Jerry Miller moved the College of Business toward a stronger focus on academic research as a way to enhance quality teaching, established SIFE/Enactus, enhanced the Student Managed Investment Fund, opened the door to the world by committing to international recruitment along with online delivery of the M.B.A. program and numerous other initiatives,” Dr. Neil Terry, dean of the College of Business, said. “The vision put forth by Dr. Miller is still very much at the core of the current success of the College of Business. We are very proud to have an engaging faculty member like Dr. Hammer serve as the Miller Professor.”

Dr. Meredith
Dr. Meredith

Dr. Neil Meredith, assistant professor of economics, has been named the Hassan and Jill Dana Professor of Business. Hassan and Jill Dana established the Dana Professorship of Business in 2015 to support academic excellence, discovery and innovation for the faculty, students and regional community supported by West Texas A&M University and the College of Business. Meredith earned his doctoral degree in economics from the University of Georgia in 2011 before joining the faculty at WTAMU the same year. His recent research highlights include journal publications in Journal of Regulatory Economics, Applied Economics, Journal of Financial Regulation and Compliance, Journal of International Business & Economics, Eastern Economic Journal, and Southwestern Economic Review. Meredith teaches courses in healthcare economics, industrial organization and international economics.

“Hassan and Jill Dana are transformational business leaders dedicated to advancing the regional community through education, outreach and many other enrichment activities,” Terry said. “I want to thank the Dana family and our other donors for helping us continue to establish endowed professorships in the College of Business. The creation of endowed professorships has been instrumental in our success to recruit and retain faculty members that are both excellent classroom instructors and recognized international scholars in their respective fields.”

The announcement of the new professorships appointments brings the total to 16 endowed professorships in the College of Business. The continuing professorships are listed by appointment.

• Dr. Darlene Pulliam—James and Mogie McCray Professor of Business
• Dr. Barbara Wang—Gene Edwards Professor of Banking
• Dr. De’Arno De’Armond—Gene Edwards Professor of Financial Planning
• Dr. Anne Macy—Gene Edwards Professor of Finance
• Dr. Sharon Burnett—Gene Edwards Profess of Accounting
• Dr. Nick Gerlich—J. Pat Hickman Professor of Marketing
• Dr. James Owens—Don Hodges Professor of Corporate Governance
• Dr. Robin Patterson—Don Patterson Professor of Business Law
• Dr. Sean Humpherys—T. Boone Pickens Professor of Business
• Dr. Jonathan Shaffer—T. Boone Pickens Professor of Management
• Dr. Karyn Friske—Stanley Schaeffer Professor of Business Ethics
• Dr. Bin Shao—Neil and Anne Terry Professor of Business
• Dr. Jeffry Babb—Phil Gensler Professor of Computer Information Systems
• Dr. Andrew Li—Don Williams Professor of Management

West Texas A&M University will host a convocation ceremony this coming February in the Jack B. Kelley Student Center, Legacy Hall to honor faculty and donors of endowed professorships and chairs.