Omicron Delta Epsilon
Omicron Delta Epsilon

The Paul and Virginia Engler College of Business at West Texas A&M University inducted its 38th class of students into Omicron Delta Epsilon (ODE), the second class of students into Alpha Mu Alpha (AMA), and the inaugural class of Upsilon Pi Epsilon (UPE) in 2017.

Omicron Delta Epsilon is one of the world’s largest academic honor societies. The objectives of Omicron Delta Epsilon are recognition of scholastic attainment and the honoring of outstanding achievements in economics. The board of trustees for the organization includes well-known Nobel Laureates in Economic Sciences such as Robert Lucas, Kenneth Arrow and Robert Solow. Omicron Delta Epsilon has approximately 600 chapters worldwide, which includes the Nu Chapter established at West Texas A&M University in 1970.

OMICRON DELTA EPSILON INDUCTION, SPRING 2017—Dr. Neil Meredith, Faculty Advisor
• Pradnya Bhere from India
• Gregory Todd Clark from Carlsbad, Calif.
• Min Jiang from China
• Geraldine Klonarides from Greece
• Christopher Morgan from Amarillo
• Jessica O’Brien from Atlanta, Ga.
• Jon Reaves from Fort Worth
• Alexander Sicola from Amarillo
• Steven Webster from Amarillo

Alpha Mu Alpha is an honorary society of the American Marketing Association. The honor society is open to qualified undergraduate students, graduate students and faculty members to reward academic excellence in the discipline and science of marketing. The national Alpha Mu Alpha organization was established in 1981 and the West Texas A&M University chapter was established in 2016.

ALPHA MU ALPHA INDUCTION, SPRING 2017—Dr. Robert King, Faculty Advisor
• Audrey Chatelus from Boise, Idaho
• Rebecca Cole from Fort Lauderdale, Florida
• Jenise Contreras from Los Angeles, California
• Adriana Duch Cordova from El Salvador
• Collin Evans from Sundown, Texas
• Kimber Harrison from Clovis, New Mexico
• Emily Hoelscher from Hereford, Texas
• Evelyn Montoya from Amarillo, Texas
• Andrew Netzel from Geneva, Ohio
• Molly Offutt from Amarillo, Texas
• Hsin-Yi Peng from Taiwan
• Autumn Rogers from Amarillo, Texas

Upsilon Pi Epsilon is the first and only existing international honor society in the computing and information disciplines.  It has received endorsements from the two largest computer organizations in the world, the Association for Computing Machinery and the IEEE Computer Society.  Upsilon Pi Epsilon was first organized at Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas, in 1967. The international organization now consists of chapters in various colleges and universities in North America and overseas.  Members are chosen not only for their scholastic achievement in a computing information systems program, but also for distinguishing themselves as true professionals by meeting the standards of the society.  Dr. James Comer, department chair and professor of computer science at Texas Christian University (TCU) facilitated the installation of the WTAMU Upsilon Pi Epsilon inaugural ceremony.

UPSILON PI EPSILON INDUCTION, FALL 2017—Dr. Leon Chen, Faculty Advisor

Inaugural Student and Faculty UPE Inductees

• Emily Gross from Amarillo, Texas
• Leeland Hackbarth from Happy, Texas
• Heather Jones from Amarillo, Texas
• Walters Ngwa from Dallas, Texas
• Saru Pahari from India
• Joshua Tarrant from Amarillo, Texas
• Robert Taylor from Canyon, Texas
• Smriti Thapa from Nepal